Pokemon Diamond & Pearl Remakes Wish-List – Pokemon 25th Anniversary

With the long awaited Pokemon Diamond and Pearl remakes finally being confirmed after 15 years since the original games’ release, I thought it’d be enjoyable to make a wish-list of what I would love to see when it comes to my favourite Pokemon games of all-time being remade, and also what I would loath to see.

These games were my first experience with Pokemon and to this day, are my most cherished and beloved games in the franchise. Ultimately, with the track record that Game Freak have had in recent years when it comes to effort, I am just writing this in prayer that the thing I love so dearly is not completely tarnished.

Story –

Although probably the most forgettable aspect of most Pokemon games, the story for Diamond and Pearl is important. I feel that to-date, these games provided characters and a story that is only bettered by the generation 5 games. I feel following the exact story of the original games would be typical remake fashion, but ultimately I would love to see taking elements of Pokemon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapphire further in the Diamond and Pearl Remakes.

Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire were pretty much the exact same story from the original games. However, they made exceptions with the inclusion of a few new characters and the Delta Episode. I think a Delta Episode for the Diamond and Pearl games would be a perfect chance to incorporate the 3D version of the distortion world and that legendary Giratina encounter from Platinum. As mentioned, I would like the main-story to be taken a step-further too, with it not being a carbon copy, and trying something new with the Sinnoh region. Although remaining true to the roots of the story to the original Diamond and Pearl is important whilst enhancing upon it at the same time.

(Source: Pixelkin)


Post-Game –

This is something that simply could make or break these remakes for me. Sinnoh is the region with probably the most lore and legends surrounding it. To ignore the potential for post-game adventures would be detrimental to the experience that fans have been crying out for. Although hidden in the original games, most players by now have experienced the Shaymin, Darkrai and Arceus events through the void glitch or some other means.

(Source: Amino Apps)


These are some of the most memorable moments as a child in the Pokemon series, when you’d come across a legendary without it being handed to you. I think these games are the perfect opportunity to fully release these in-game events and provide a post-game with fully realised encounters for Shaymin, Darkrai and Arceus, along with the Giratina Delta Episode that I had previously mentioned. As well as these encounters, adding the battle frontier similar to the one from Platinum would be a huge addition, especially after the last proper remakes edition of a battle frontier.

(Source: 4Archive)


This inclusion into the remakes will require effort, passion and ultimately an understanding for how much the lore of the original games still means to the current fans. To do this, providing an adequate and an efforted realisation of these events on modern hardware is will be required. This is not too much to be expected of Game Freak. Sadly, given the track-record of Game Freak in recent times, I could easily see this not being included or being added in later as some form of DLC.

Gameplay and Graphics –

This is the part that I am almost resided to accept when it comes to these remakes. My ideal view is that Pokemon should have remained in the HeartGold/SoulSilver or Black/White style for eternity, and never have made that transition to 3D. As a result, I would adore if these games were in the style of the original games but made more crisp and up-to-date, or in the style of Black and White. However, realistically these games are almost certainly going to follow the same trend of Pokemon Sword and Shield. I just pray these games have better animations and textures than those games, and that the bare minimum is not the requirement when it comes to the design-philosophy of the remakes.


Pokemon –

The Diamond and Pearl remakes will obviously not include all Pokemon. As of now, even after two DLCs, there is still hundreds of Pokemon that are inaccessible in Pokemon Sword and Shield. Truly, I’d love to see a situation where the 493 are the options in the main-game for the player to choose from, and then once the main-story has finished, the rest generations 5-8 become accessible and can either be encountered in post-game areas, or as transferrable through HOME.

If I was honest though, I do think these gaps in the dex will be filled by new areas and returning Pokemon via DLC, as mentioned in previous sections of this piece. If the DLCs are something really breathtaking and provide great value for the price, then I will be all for them, however if they are on-par with the Isle of Armour or the Crown Tundra from Sword and Shield, then I will genuinely be lost for words at how low this company will sink.

I also think that the Pokemon encounters should work similarly to Pokemon Let’s Go Pikachu & Eevee, and that overworld sprites should exist, with shiny Pokemon appearing shiny in the overworld too, although combining the option for random encounters, like in Sword and Shield. Another facet of overworld Pokemon that would be massively appreciated would be the Pokemon following you mechanic with how it was implemented in Let’s Go, not like it was in Sword and Shield.

(Source: Gaming Loadout)


Poketch –

Obviously Pokemon Diamond and Pearl were made with the DS in mind, and as a result, this does make them a little harder to remake. The Poketch, although not vital to the experience, was a main gimmick with the original games. However, due to not having two screens, I do think it would be hard to incorporate into the remakes.

(Source: BetaArchive)


This is why I think the proposal of providing a Poketch service via the Nintendo Switch Online app on the app-store is a great idea. Similarly to how Animal Crossing: New Horizons allows players to chat, use emotions and even browse the Nook Shop, players would be able to access all the Poketch apps via their phone. Now, would I complain if the Poketch was left out and the remakes were stellar in every other area? No. However, it really would show a sign of effort and passion to find a way to incorporate this feature into the remakes in a working capacity.

(Source: Goliath)


Gimmicks (Dynamax, Megas etc…)

To be honest, this is something I also fear for the worst about. I think mega-evolutions may be dead, but if they aren’t their inclusion along with a few Sinnoh Pokemon getting megas would be happily welcomed. However, the darkest fear imaginable would be the inclusion of Dynamax and Gigantamax. If these weren’t included, Game Freak would have a tricky case on their hands to try to sort out the compatability between Sword and Shield and the Diamond and Pearl remakes. They would have to completely ban the use of the gimmick in online, or they would have to incorporate its use into the remakes.

Incorporating Dynamax and Gigantamax into the Diamond and Pearl remakes would signify to me what Pokemon has become. It would in essence, spell the official end of all that Pokemon once meant to me. It would, in effect, urinate on the legacy of the most beloved and adored Pokemon games of all-time, all in the sake of forcing in their annoying, lazy and pointless gimmick. I pray they realise how awful this could be, and make the right decision to not include the dynamax and gigantamax abilities into these remakes.

Conclusion –

These remakes have been the moment that I have personally dreamt about for years. I fear the worst, but that hopeful adoration I have for Pokemon is always there. I simply cannot help myself but to be hopeful and excited everytime the next Pokemon games come around, and although I do not expect perfection, all I ask is that the admiration that these games have, the memories attached to their originals, and the legacy of these games is preserved in the remakes with genuine effort and love. I fear the worst, but hope for the best.

(Featured Image Source: Dexerto)

Published by

Nathan Brennan

I am a 20-year-old student currently studying Arts & Humanities. I use this blog to write opinion pieces, reviews and just general pieces that I have written in my spare time.

One thought on “Pokemon Diamond & Pearl Remakes Wish-List – Pokemon 25th Anniversary”

Leave a comment